cbclogo                                                                                                                                                                                               Celebrating 200 years 1816 - 2016 

CBS Reach Croke Cup Final

CBS Thurles reach Croke Cup Final


Thurles CBS 0-18 St Peter’s (Wexford) 1-12

SEVEN UNANSWERED POINTS in the periods immediately before and after half-time were crucial as Thurles CBS overcame St Peter’s College to reach the Croke Cup (All-Ireland PPS SAHC) final at the Waterford IT complex at Carriganore today.Victory propels Thurles CBS into the decider on Saturday 4 April where they will take on the winner of next Saturday’s semi-final clash between St Kieran’s (Kilkenny) and Presentation Athenry.A second-minute goal from Rory O’Connor had helped the Wexford town school to lead for much of the first half and Matthew Joyce’s point put them 1-9 to 0-7 in front after 25 minutes.

Thurles found an extra gear, however, as Ronan Teehan scored two points and Robbie Long, Niall Heffernan and Kevin Duggan got one each as Thurles had drawn level by the interval. In fact, the Dr Harty Cup champions could even have been ahead but Michael Connors’ goal was ruled out as he had been in the large rectangle.While Thurles might have feared that the break would puncture their momentum, instead they powered on as Teehan and Heffernan put them ahead for the first time. The Peter’s rhythm, so prevalent in the first half, wasn’t as smooth as they racked up more than twice as many wides in the second period.Even so, two frees from Billy Dunne – son of Wexford manager Liam – kept them in touch, with a point between the teams, 0-15 to 0-11, as the final quarter dawned.



Heffernan’s fifth point extended that advantage but then Thurles needed goalkeeper William Tierney to make a brilliant full-length save to deny Rory O’Connor a goal. Billy McCarthy pointed for Thurles immediately after that let-off and they weren’t going to be denied from there.

Scorers for Thurles CBS: Niall Heffernan 0-5 (0-4f), Ronan Teehan, Robbie Long, Kevin Duggan 0-3 each, Billy McCarthy 0-2, Cathal Moloney, Michael Connors 0-1 each.Scorers for St Peter’s College: Billy Dunne 0-4 (0-4f), Rory O’Connor 1-1, Matthew Joyce 0-3, Jake Firman, Conor Hearne, Jack Pettit, Rowan White 0-1 each.