cbclogo                                                                                                                                                                                               Celebrating 200 years 1816 - 2016 

Awards Night 2015

Prize Night

The school’s annual awards night ceremony took place last Thursday night in the James O Donoghue Sports Hall. A wide spectrum of achievements was recognised on the night with awards for full attendance, academic excellence, sport, music, construction and art. The guest speaker was past pupil, Mr. Aidan ‘Taggy’ Fogarty, who spoke fondly of his time in the school while outlining for the pupils in attendance the importance of hard work and determination. Also present on the night was special guest, Archbishop Kieran O Reilly. In athletics, Daniel Ryan and Fred Crowley picked up awards while in basketball, David Ryan was named Player of the Year. The ‘ Ronaynes’ Junior Certificate Materials Technology Award ‘ which recognises the best Junior Certificate project went to Darragh Taylor while Eric Fanning won the ‘A.I.B. Construction Studies Award’. James Ryan won the Junior Hurler of the Year award while the senior Hurler of the Year award went to Chris McCullough. Niall Heffernan won the Harty Hurler of the Year and Keith Ryan picked up the prize for first year hurling. There were also hurling awards for Darren Flood, Jack Fallon, Jack Taylor, Michael Purcell and Conor Stakelum. Fred Crowley picked up the award for Junior Footballer of the year. The overall prize for Sportsperson of the Year went to Billy McCarthy. The award for the best Junior Certificate of 2014 went to Mark Fortune with Peter Carragher taking the award for the best Leaving Certificate of 2014. The George Willoughby sponsored Cultural Award was presented to Diarmaid Meagher while there were awards in music for Micheal Bourke and Christopher Carew. In art, there were awards for David Conway and John Shanahan while the Cultural Award went to Adam O Dwyer and Eoin Corbett. The Parents’ Council sponsored Creative Writing Awards went to Brian O Callaghan, Brendan Atkins and Adam O Dwyer. Daniel Ryan was named as Junior Student of the Year while the highlight of the night as usual was the Student of the Year award which was won by Eoin Corbett. Congratulations to everyone who received an award.  Check the photo gallery for more pictures