cbclogo                                                                                                                                                                                               Celebrating 200 years 1816 - 2016 

News (7th December)



Our under-16 basketball squad enjoyed great success last week, winning both the Midlands League semi-final and the final. Last Monday, a great team performance saw them defeat Kildare Community School by 56 points to 21. In the final, which was played last Friday, outstanding performances from Killian Ryan, Sean Mockler, Patrick O Gorman, Liam Kenny and Arthur Geronimo saw them overcome Heywood College by 42 points to 10, thus finishing the campaign as Midlands League Champions.

Croke Cup Success

Regardless of the result on Wednesday night in Dr. Morris Park, the Croke Cup was destined to come to Thurles C.B.S.,  as the final was contested by two teams from the school. The teams, captained by Darren Flood and James Synnott, provided the crowd with a very entertaining spectacle that, perhaps fittingly, ended in a draw. The final score was 3-12 to 2-15. After the game, the school held the official launch for the upcoming match between the past pupils of Thurles C.B.S. and a Tipperary selection. This game is being organised to mark the school’s bicentenary celebrations next year. The game will be played in Holycross on the seventeenth of January.



Harty Cup

The school’s reign as Harty Cup champions came to an end last Wednesday as the team was beaten by an impressive Nenagh C.B.S. side. The final score was Thurles; 0-14, Nenagh; 4-18.

Study Skills

Over the course of several days last week, our first year pupils attended a study skills seminar which was delivered by ‘Super Generation’. The workshop focussed on’whole brain’ learning which incorporates colour, imagery, movement and logic. The pupils learned about mind maps, memory techniques, layered learning and planning. An information evening in relation to study skills for first years was also held in the school last Wednesday. Hopefully, the pupils will find these study skills beneficial as they prepare for their Christmas exams.

Bake Sale

‘Well done’ to our 4T transition year class who last week raised 200 euro for the Irish Wheelchair Association by holding a bake sale for first years.

Musical Preparations for this year’s show, ‘Back to the 80s….The Totally Awesome Musical’, are currently in full swing, with students busy rehearsing, dancing, and building and painting sets. The production features hits such as ‘Walking on Sunshine’ and ‘Come on Eileen’ and begins on the 21st of January.

Concern Debating

‘Congratulations’ to our Concern debating team on successfully opposing the motion that ‘The COP 21 Agreement will succeed where others have failed’ against the girls from the Presentation Convent on Wednesday evening. The team, which consisted of John Lanigan, Ciaran Taaffe, Harry Hogan and Mark Fortune, performed admirably in what was a very entertaining debate. Their next debate will see them attempt to oppose the motion that ‘HIV’Aids will be eradicated during our lifetime’ against St. Anne’s from Tipperary.

German Debating

Our German debating team was in action last Thursday when they attempted to oppose the motion that ‘ Social Media is Dangerous for Young People’ against a team from Heywood College. The team was captained by John Lanigan and also comprised Rory Purcell. Oisin Kenny and Darren O Sullivan. Unfortunately, the motion was carried.

Cross Country Athletics

Athletes from the school competed in the Minor, Junior and Senior races at the Tipperary Schools Cross Country Championships which took place in Thurles Crokes last Wednesday, the 2nd of December. Our Minor team, which consisted of Sean Philips, Sylvester Gamza, Tony Galvin, Cathal McElgunn, Adam Daly, Adam O Dwyer and Conor Costello,  came in as the 7th best team. In the Junior race Dylan McLaughlin performed excellently, grabbing a silver medal. Our Intermediate team also did very well, finishing as overall race winners. The team comprised Kieron Moloney, Fred Crowley, Jack Hickey, Eanna Ryan, Ben O Dwyer and Niall Moore.