cbclogo                                                                                                                                                                                               Celebrating 200 years 1816 - 2016 

News (30th May)

Sports Day

Last Tuesday saw the school host its annual Sports Day and as usual there was a wide variety of sporting activities for the students to enjoy. In the morning the students were divided into their year groups and they participated in Australian Rules football, soccer, hurling, dodgeball and numerous other sports .After lunch the entire school descended on the Railway Field where events included press-up wrestling, an obstacle course, the human table, the water challenge and the tug-of -war.  The sunny weather added immensely to what was a very enjoyable day.

Prize Night

The school’s annual awards night ceremony took place last Thursday night in the James O Donoghue Sports Hall. A wide spectrum of achievements was recognised on the night with awards for full attendance, academic excellence, sport, music, construction and art.The guest speaker was past pupil, Mr. Jackie Cahill T.D., who spoke fondly of his time in the school while outlining for the pupils in attendance the importance of a good education.In athletics, there were awards for Adam O Dwyer, Sean Philips, Sean Mockler, Fred Crowley, Jack Ryan and Dylan McLoughlin while Daniel Ryan was named as the overall Athlete of the Year. In basketball, Stephen O Shaughnessy, Liam Kenny, Blaine Carroll, Killian Ryan and Darren O Sullivan all picked up awards and Sean Mockler was named Player of the Year. The ‘ Ronaynes’ Junior Certificate Materials Technology Award ‘ which recognises the best Junior Certificate project went to David Ryan while Keith O Dwyer won the ‘A.I.B. Construction Studies Award’.One of the highlights of the night arrived when Jake O Brien received his award for full attendance. Amazingly, Jake never missed a single day of school, from when he started in Junior Infants to his completion of his secondary education. There were Special Merit awards on the night for Brandon Meaney, in recognition of his work in the community, and Darragh Taylor, whose Junior Cert Materials Technology project was deemed to be the best in the country for 2015.Darren Flood won the Junior Hurler of the Year award while the Senior Hurler of the Year award went to Mikey Connors. Dillon Quirke won the Harty Hurler of the Year award and Stephen Ferncombe picked up the prize for first year hurling. There were also hurling awards for Conor Stapleton, Jack Lanigan, Max Hackett, Christopher Carew and Michael Purcell.


In football, there were awards for Paddy Creedon and Devon Ryan.  The overall prize for Sportsperson of the Year went to Sean Mockler. The award for the best Junior Certificate of 2015 was shared by Ray Fuller, Bill Shanahan and Rory Fogarty with Colman Coakley taking the award for the best Leaving Certificate of 2015. The George Willoughby sponsored Cultural Award was presented to Alex Murphy while there were awards in music for Kevin Bracken, Evan Lyons and Fionn McCartan. In art, there were awards for Brendan Atkins and Anthony Maher. The Parents’ Council sponsored Creative Writing Awards went to Sean Philips, Liam Blake, Ben Murphy, Brendan Atkins, Dominic Taaffe and Adam Webb. Jack Hickey was named as Junior Student of the Year while the highlight of the night as usual was the Student of the Year award which was won by Rory Purcell. Congratulations to everyone who received an award.Soccer Players of the YearOn Wednesday last sixth year students, Dale Loughnane and Tommy Teer were presented with perpetual trophies, kindly sponsored by Mr. Kevin Cummins, in recognition of their contribution to soccer in the school in its inaugural year. Dale, who captained the under-19 team in the Munster Senior Cup, was named as Senior Player of the Year while Tommy, who played for both the under-17 and under-19 teams, was named as Junior Player of the Year. ‘Well done’ to both.

AIB Build-a-Bank Challenge

On Wednesday last, Kerry footballing legend, Colm ‘Gooch’ Cooper visited the school to promote the AIB Build-a-Bank challenge and to lead a training session for second year students.