cbclogo                                                                                                                                                                                               Celebrating 200 years 1816 - 2016 

Dean Ryan Final (12th November)

Dean Ryan Final

Thurles CBS and Coláiste Cholmáin Fermoy played out an exciting draw after extra time in the Dean Ryan Cup (Under 16.5 A Hurling) Final on Saturday November 12th at the Gaelic Grounds Limerick – Thurles CBS 3-13 Coláiste Cholmáin Fermoy 1-19.The game was played at a high tempo with the Fermoy school settling into their stride quickly opening up a two point lead in the first 10 minutes.  The teams were soon level with points from Jack Morrissey and Jack Lanigan.  Pressure from CBS Thurles resulted in a penalty which Darren flood slotted to the left corner to give give Thurles a one point lead in the 23rd minute. The half time score left both teams level 7 points to Coláiste Cholmáin and 1.4 to the CBS Thurles.



The second half saw the score shared no more than 6 times. Jack Lanigan found the Colemans net earlt in the half to give a two point lead to Thurles.  However, the score was never more than two points between the teams as they headed towards full time.  Colemans fought back strongly to take the lead in the final minutes, With Thurles one point down Darren Flood took a free to level things up with the final play of the match to send both teams into extra time with a scoreline of 1.14 to Colemans and 2.11 for CBS Thurles.

Extra time could not separate the teams as the lead was shared four times during the 20 minutes of extra time.  The final score was Coláiste Cholmáin Fermoy  1.19  CBS Thurles 3.13.  The date for the replay is fixed for Saturday 19th November at a venue yet to be fixed.