cbclogo                                                                                                                                                                                               Celebrating 200 years 1816 - 2016 

Prize Night


Prize Night




The school’s annual awards night ceremony took place last Thursday night in the James O Donoghue Sports Hall. A wide spectrum of achievements was recognised on the night with awards for full attendance, academic excellence, sport, music, construction and art.

The guest speaker was past pupil, Mr. Gerard O Brien, a former teacher and currently the State Solicitor for Tipperary North Riding. Mr. O Brien, has made an enormous contribution to cultural life in Thurles through his involvement with Thurles Folk Group and his inception of Phoenix Productions. Mr. O Brien spoke very inspirationally about the obstacles he had to overcome over the course of his life so far and he stressed to the pupils that success will only come to them through their own initiative.

In athletics, Daniel Ryan was named as overall Athlete of the Year while Fred Crowley and Dean Campion also picked up awards. In basketball, Daniel Ryan was named Junior Player of the Year and Stephen Lyons was named Senior Player of the Year. The ‘ Ronaynes’ Junior Certificate Materials Technology Award ‘ which recognises the best Junior Certificate project went to John Cussen while Pavel Novak won the ‘A.I.B. Construction Studies Award’.Enda Heffernan won the Young Hurler of the Year award while the senior Hurler of the Year award went to Chris McCullough. Brendan Larkin won the Harty Hurler of the Year and Zac Jackson picked up the prize for first year hurling.

There were also awards for Jack Fallon, Jimmy Ryan, Brian O Meara, Cathal Moloney and Jack Skehan. In football,  Jack Dolan received the junior award while Raymond Nally was named as Senior Footballer of the Year.The award for the best Junior Certificate of 2013 went to Martin Hayes with James Tobin taking the award for the best Leaving Certificate of 2013. The George Willoughby sponsored Cultural Award was presented to Brendan O Loughlin while there were awards in music for Conor Harnett, Mark Fortune and Timmy Dunne.

The Parents’ Council sponsored Creative Writing Awards went to Conor Kavanagh, Harry Hogan and Shane Butler. Michael Purcell was named as Junior Student of the Year while the highlight of the night as usual was the Student of the Year award which was won by Thomas Skehan. Congratulations to everyone who received an award.