CBS Thurles Secondary School 

                  Scoil na mBráithre Críostaí Durlas


 "Promoting full personal and social developement in caring Christian communities of learning and teaching." Edmund Rice Schools Trust.

Board of Management

Board of Management of CBSThurles

The Board of Management (the Board) is a body corporate established by the Patron (Edmund Rice Schools Trust)  under the Education Act 1998, which manages the school on behalf of the Patron and discharges the respective functions of the Board and of the school as these are set out in the Act.

The Board has charge of the overall management of the school. The Board is the employer of all staff at the school. Under the Board, the Principal has charge of the day-to-day management of the school.The Board operates under the Education Act, 1998, and other relevant legislation, the Articles of Management for Catholic Secondary Schools, such other regulations, directives and/or guidelines issued from time to time by the Minister and/or the Department of Education and Skills and always in accordance with the values and vision set out in the Charter, a core document issued by the Patron for the guidance of all associated with the respective schools.

The Board has eight members, four nominated by the Patron, two by the parents and two by the teachers. All these nominees are appointed to the Board by the Patron. The Chair of the Board is appointed by the Patron from amongst its four nominees. The Principal acts as Secretary to the Board. The Principal has no voting privileges at Board meetings. The Secretary shall act as correspondent for the Board unless, in special circumstances, the Board shall determine otherwise.The business of the Board shall be conducted in private and no disclosure of the business shall be made without the authority of the Board.The Board of Management as presently constituted took up office in October 2017 and is scheduled to serve a term of three years. 

The following are the members of the Board

  • Ms Mary O'Dwyer, (Chair) ERST nominee
  • Mr Finn Ó'Murchú, ERST nominee
  • Ms Kay Skehan, ERST nominee
  • Mr Jimmy Duggan, ERST nominee
  • Ms Mary Ryan, Parent nominee
  • Mr  Declan Fitzpatrick, Parent nominee
  • Ms Mary Kennedy, Teacher nominee
  • Mr Niall Cahill, Teacher nominee


Agreed Reports from previous Board of Management Meetings

22nd June 2017

6th September 2017

4th October 2017

13th November 2017

19th December 2017

6th February 2018

20th March 2018

21st May 2018

21st June 2018

1st October 2018

19th November 2018

10th December 2018

21st January 2019

11th February 2019

11th March 2019

27th May 2019

17th June 2019

23rd September 2019

Sunday, August 09, 2020